City School District of New Rochelle Summer Stars Program

The City School District of New Rochelle’s Summer Learning Program provides opportunities for students to build resilience and self-confidence while engaging in academic enrichment. The old model of remedial “summer school” has been replaced with a student-centered approach of “summer learning” built around student interest, teamwork, and a camp-like atmosphere.

The Summer Learning Program has several components:

Summer Stars: This program, for grades kindergarten through eight, seeks to increase student achievement in reading and math, equip students with developmentally appropriate social and emotional competencies, and engage students in creative and fun enrichment activities. The school district is partnering with the New Rochelle Boys & Girls Club and the Budding Buddhas yoga organization, to support this program. Among the programs:

  • Academic enrichment: The Summer Stars programs include mathematics, English Language Arts, Social and Emotional Learning and Wellness/Thematic Enrichment. Invitations have been sent to students recommended by principals. For more information, contact your school’s project leader (information below).
  • Rising Sixth-Grade Program: Runs Mondays through Thursdays from July 5-28 at Albert Leonard Middle School and/or New Rochelle High School for Isaac E. Young Middle School’s program. Mathematics, English Language Arts (ELA), Social and Emotional Learning and Wellness/Thematic Enrichment. Invitations have been sent to students recommended by principals. For more information, contact your school’s project leader.

 Summer Stars information by school:

  • Barnard Early Childhood Center: Rising kindergarten, grades 1, 2 and 3. Theme: Summer Bugs. Contact: Judy Badillo, jbadillo@nredlearn.org
  • Columbus Elementary School: Rising grades 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5. Rising sixth-graders included in the program will attend the summer program offered at the student’s designated middle school for the 2022 - 2023 school year. Theme: Hands-On Research. Contact: Dan Cocciarido, dcocciardi@nredlearn.org
  • George M. Davis Jr. Elementary School: Rising grade 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 and the district-wide Elementary School Extended School Year Program. Rising sixth-graders in the program will attend the Albert Leonard Summer Learning Program. Theme: Taking Care of Ourselves & Our Community. Contact: Vinny Caporaso, vcaporaso@nredlearn.org
  • Jefferson Elementary School: Rising grades 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 Jefferson students. Rising sixth-graders included in the program will attend the summer program offered at the student’s designated middle school for the 2022 - 2023 school year. Jefferson students are slated to attend the Isaac E. Young Summer Learning Program. Theme: Nature Related to Sustainability & STEAM. Contact: Lucea Brea, lbrea@nredlearn.org
  • Trinity Elementary School: Rising grades 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 Trinity students. Rising sixth-graders included in the program will attend the summer program offered at the student’s designated middle school for the 2022 - 2023 school year. Trinity students are slated to attend the Isaac E. Young Summer Learning Program. Theme: STEAM. Contact: Deirdre Dillon, ddillon@nredlearn.org
  • Ward Elementary School: Rising grades 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 Ward students. Rising sixth-graders included in the program will attend the summer program offered at the student’s designated middle school for the 2022 - 2023 school year. Ward students are slated to attend the Albert Leonard Middle School Summer Learning Program. Theme: World Habitats. Contact: Jennifer Hofstetter, jhofstetter@nredlearn.org
  • Webster Elementary School: Rising grades 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 Webster students. Rising sixth-graders included in the program will attend the summer program offered at the student’s designated middle school for the 2022 - 2023 school year. Webster students are slated to attend the Albert Leonard Middle School Summer Learning Program. Theme: Sustainability. Contact: Kathy Coyne, kcoyne@nredlearn.org
  • Albert Leonard Middle School: Rising grades 6, 7, and 8 ALMS students. Rising ninth-graders will attend the summer program at New Rochelle High School, July 11-29. Theme: Graduation & Beyond. Contact: Matthew Lucero, mlucero@nredlearn.org,
  • Isaac E. Young Middle School: Rising grades 6, 7, and 8 students. Rising ninth-graders will attend the summer program offered at New Rochelle High School from July 11-29. Theme: Mission Possible. Contact: Christopher Francaviglia, cfrancaviglia@nredlearn.org.

Additional Programs

  • Rising Ninth-Grade Program: Runs Mondays through Fridays from July 11-29. For incoming ninth-graders recommended by their current school's principal. At New Rochelle High School. Covers mathematics, ELA, and Social-Emotional Learning/Wellness. Contact: Maureen Maire, mmaire@nredlearn.org
  • New Rochelle High School Credit Recovery Program: Runs July 11 through Aug. 12. Registration: June 28 to July 2 at the high school. For 10th, 11th, and 12th-graders who need to earn academic credits based on course failures. Contact: Maureen Maire, mmaire@nredlearn.org

Summer Enrichment Programs

  • Summer Music & Performing Arts, Aug. 1-25, New Rochelle High School. For rising third-, fourth- and fifth-grade students. Band and orchestra. One-to-one support and general music exploration. Contact: Deepak Marwah, dmarwah@nredlearn.org.
  • Pre-PAVE Theater & Art Prep Program, Aug. 1-25, New Rochelle High School. For rising eighth-graders. Instruction in dancing or acting, to gain insight into the PAVE (Performing and Visual Arts Education Program) audition process. Contact: Deepak Marwah, dmarwah@nredlearn.org.